V Workshop O Futuro da Videocolaboração (CT-Video)

The V workshop “The Future of Videocolaboration”, coordinated by CT-Video (Technical Committee on Technological Prospecting in Videocolaboration) will be held on Thursday, October 18, 2018, as an event integrated to WebMedia 2018, which will take place in the IFBA (Federal Institute of Bahia), in Salvador. The event can also be attended remotely.

This year the workshop schedule will be divided into two sessions. The first one will be based on the presentation of selected works. In the second session a group dynamics will be carried out, with the objective of identifying opportunities for collaboration among the participants, in order to foster the development of new projects together.

The workshop is open to everyone, and everyone is invited to submit articles and attend the event. WCT-Video will happen as an integrated session to WebMedia 2018.

Call for Papers

We are pleased to invite you to submit papers on ongoing research, prototypes or scenarios for applying new technologies in a particular market segment or knowledge area in videoconferencing.

In this edition the focus is the submission of articles that reinforce the collaboration and integration between groups and research laboratories, government agencies and companies involved, in the most different forms, in the field of videocolaboration. In order to achieve this goal, the articles must involve authors related to at least two distinct groups of academia, government or business sector.

All papers will be reviewed by at least two members of the WCT-Video program committee, and the selected ones will be presented in the first session of the workshop. The works will also be published in the book “Workshops and Posters” of WebMedia 2018.

Topics of Interest

Papers may cover one or more of the following topics of interest, but not restricted to them:

Multimedia applications in health.
Production, editing and multimedia transmission.
Interactive projections.
Immersive spaces.
Telepresence systems.
Augmented Reality.
Remote collaboration systems.
3D audio.
Digital cinema.
Online education.
Machine learning in video applications.
Surveillance and security systems.
Generation of videos in uncontrolled environments.
Open data for research in the area of multimedia systems.

Submission Format

The works submitted to this Workshop must comply with the following formatting rules:

Be written in English or Portuguese;
Papers in Portuguese should also have the abstract in English;
Follow ACM format
Respect the 4 page limit.
To be sent in PDF.

Submissions should be made through the email workshop-ctvideo@rnp.br

The authors of the approved works must register in the list of emails of the CT-Video through the link: http://listas.rnp.br/mailman/listinfo/ct-video

Any questions can be forwarded to the same email as the submission.

Presentation of accepted papers

The estimated duration of the presentation of each work will be 20 minutes including the audience’s questions. The article will be part of the annals of the articles of the WebMedia 2018 Workshops, bearing the ISBN of this edition. All presentations must include 2 mandatory slides:

A slide showing the state of the art of researches in the area of work presented;
A slide on the author’s future vision on the topic presented (i.e., where the research / technology presented will evolve).

Awards and financing

The 3 (three) best articles evaluated by the program committee will have the air ticket to Salvador funded by CT-Video, round trip, to 1 (one) author per article. Only the airfare will be financed, and the authors will be responsible for the other costs of travel and registration in WebMedia 2018.

Important dates

– Deadline for submission: August 20, 2018
– Notification of acceptance: August 27, 2018
– Final version: September 10, 2018

General Chair

Leandro Ciuffo – RNP – General Chair
Valter Roesler – UFRGS – General Chair
Leobino Sampaio (UFBA) – Local Chair

Program Committee

Alexandre  Carissimi – UFRGS – Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul
Leandro Ciuffo – RNP – Rede Nacional de Ensino e Pesquisa
Paulo Lopes – RUTE – Rede Universitária de Telemedicina
Valter Roesler – UFRGS – Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul